Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_1011

“Don’t strain yourself,” Grover said. “Here.” He helped me hold my glass and put the straw to my lips.

I recoiled at the taste, because I was expecting apple juice. It wasn’t that at all. It was chocolate-chip cookies. Liquid cookies. And not just any cookies—my mom’s homemade blue chocolate-chip cookies, buttery and hot, with the chips still melting. Drinking it, my whole body felt warm and good, full of energy. My grief didn’t go away, but I felt as if my mom had just brushed her hand against my cheek, given me a cookie the way she used to when I was small, and told me everything was going to be okay.

-The Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan

Liquid chocolate chip cookies. I have been dreaming about the divine nectar since the day I drooled over those pages of Lightning Thief. Unfortunately, I have not yet battled my way to Camp Half-Blood to taste it for myself. Fortunately, I have not yet had to watch my mother mauled by a Minotaur. While I wait for the monsters to catch scent of my hybridized blood and chase me to the ivy-twined columns of Camp, I will whip up another batch of this recipe. I cannot swear by the Styx that it tastes authentic, but if you don’t find it uncannily delicious I’ll polish your armor in time for the next Capture the Flag tournament and make an offering to your Olympian DNA-donor.

Nectar

Half-Blood Nectar or Percy Jackson’s Liquid Chocolate Chip Cookies

Serves two mortals or one hungry half-blood

Pantry

  • 1 tablespoon vegan butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour (add an extra tablespoon if you desire a more puddingy texture)
  • 1 ½ cups nondairy milk (the more neutral the flavor the better, unless you desire almond or coconut flavored cookie drink, in which case use the corresponding milk)
  • 2-3 tablespoons brown sugar, to taste
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 2-3 tablespoons chocolate chips

Method

Whisk together the butter and flour in a small saucepan over medium-low heat. Cook for 3-5 minutes. The roux paste should be fragrant but should not be allowed to burn. Whisk in the rest of the ingredients. Bring to a low boil and cook for 10-15 minutes, whisking frequently. Remove from heat when desired consistency is obtained (the nectar will thicken more as it cools). Allow to cool completely before stirring in the chocolate chips.

 

