Tags

, , , , ,

Vegan blackberry pie

This is my bliss / Stepping into the storybook / Before daybreak rising / Basket over my arm / Over the river and through the woods / Hyaline panpipes of mo(u)rning doves / Dawn’s eye dews everything with divinity / Don’t stray

Where urchins scrawl their names and flames in poison paint / By the once-creek / Brambles guard their prize (prisoners) with desiccated limbs / Spiniform sentinels

Minutes lose meaning / I operate on blackberry chronometrics / Juicy drupelets by the handful

Exquisite torture / Bluebeard wraps my fingers around the key of my own unraveling / Open on abandoned stream banks of berries / Mine / If only I could reach them / I claw at crowblack clusters / The clusters claw back / I am scathed by my own inquisition

Bluebeard draws me close / Shreds my shirt / Punctures skin / Thorns blossom blood

Escape / I wrench myself from vining arms / From briered nails

I leave threads of long hair spooling from thorny spindles / Vagrant spiders hitch a ride as I plunge away / I clutch a basket of blackblooded berries

Basket of blackberries

Vegan blackberry pie

Bluebeard’s Blackberry Pie

Pantry

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/3 cup chilled vegan butter
  • 4-5 tablespoons water, vodka, or marsala wine
  • 5 cups blackberries, washed and picked over to remove stems and detritus
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • ¼ cup flour
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • zest of an orange
  • juice of half an orange
  • 1-2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh rosemary

Method

Work the butter into the flour with your fingers until you have the classic pea-sized lumps. Stir in the water or alcohol, just until a dough forms and peels off the sides of the bowl (you may not need all the liquid). Cover the dough and chill for an hour or so.

Preheat the oven to 450° F. Toss the blackberries with the sugar, flour, cinnamon, orange zest and juice, and rosemary. Allow the berries to macerate as you roll out the piecrust. Transfer the rolled out crust to a pie pan, prick the bottom, trim and crimp the edges as you like.

Heap the berries into the crust and bake at 450° F for 10 minutes. Lower the heat to 350° F and bake for 40-50 minutes or until the crust is golden and the berries are bubbling.

